MY JOURNEY INTO SELF PUBLISHING PART EIGHT: ON THE MARKET

The Utterly Amazing Bumbling-Boy VS. The Green Bogey has been on sale for 3 days and the total number of eBook and paperback copies sold is…

23.

I am pretty sure that all of them have gone to friends and family, and already I am keeping the lid on a cancerous resentment aimed at any of my nearest and dearest who haven’t coughed up yet. In my story the villain draws up a list of names under the title VICTIMS WHO MUST DIE HORRIBLY.

I am considering the same tactic, but will give them all a month or so to come to their senses.

The press release I wrote, when combined with the great wisdom and contacts of my friend Deb James at Ceidiog PR, is already bearing fruit. I’ve been invited to appear on BBC Radio Merseyside’s mid-morning show; Wirral Radio have said they’ll call me; and local paper the Wirral Globe has said it will run the story.

Will any of this sell books? In the short term, probably not, but it will raise my profile as a writer and, given that this is the reinvention I am trying to pull off, I couldn’t be happier. In the long term it could have a positive impact on would-be buyers.

Mark Gorton Author Page

I have created my amazon Author Page and likewise my Goodreads presence. Both sites offer a range of free tools, but it seems to me that the paid-for promotion is by definition designed to be more effective. Last night I started my exploration of this new world, and found myself wondering, not for the first time, if I should have done all of this before the book went on sale. You wouldn’t design and manufacture a car without thinking how the hell you were going to sell it – unless you were the creator of the eponymous Sinclair C5 electric vehicle which was far from safe and, conveniently as it turned out, looked like a coffin on three wheels

The doorbell rings. A nice bloke hands me an amazon package and I sign for it. Inside is my book and, you know what, despite being printed on demand, it looks really rather good. And get this, if anyone finds a typo, or if I decide to make some small improvements, I can simply revise and upload a replacement manuscript.

The Utterly Amazing Bumbling-Boy VS. The Green Bogey

That’s the good news. The bad news is that I shouldn’t count this copy among sales, so I have really sold…

22.

The Utterly Amazing Bumbling-Boy

Returning to my new best buddy, design tool Canva, I create a Bumbling-Boy bookmark. Having been rejected by my understandably anti-amazon local bookseller I’m not sure what I will do with it, but I will get some printed and come up with a scheme.

I am realising day by day that strategic thinking may not be my strong point.

Still…To infinibee and beeyond!

Author: Mark Gorton

I am a television producer making things for screens large and small. In my spare time I write, with a particular interest in fantastic fiction and sport non-fiction. It is an honour to host Samantha Kwok's local news site, the Blackwater Bugle. Blackwater never ceases to amaze.

Leave a Reply

