MY JOURNEY INTO SELF PUBLISHING: PART SIX: BEE-LIEVE!

I have just discovered that the Googlebot has done its thing. If I search for The Utterly Amazing Bumbling-Boy I’m taken swiftly to this blog and images associated with it.

screen-shot-2017-02-13-at-23-42-05

screen-shot-2017-02-13-at-23-41-40

My momentary euphoria is dispelled when I ask myself, “But who apart from me is likely to search for The Utterly Amazing Bumbling-Boy?” And even if they do, will the novel’s amazon listing be at the top of the page?

I decide to type again the words The Utterly Amazing Bumbling-Boy on the basis that someone told me that keyword density is essential.

Here they are: The Utterly Amazing Bumbling-Boy.

If I can get keyword density to match my own I should be in good shape.

So here are those keywords once more along with some others: The Utterly Amazing Bumbling-Boy, middle grade, comedy, action, superheroes, monsters, Harry Potter, kindle direct.

Maybe Harry Potter is kind of naughty inasmuch as I won’t complain if a Harry Potter search delivers people to my story. It is perfectly legitimate though: my Harry Potter, Inspector Harry Potter, is an important character with an unfortunate name chosen for comedy and not commercial reasons. Honest.

Thanks to Dave Kennedy the splendid eBook cover is ready.

Mark Gorton The Utterly Amazing Bumbling Boy VS. The Green Bogey

Likewise the even more splendid – because it’s larger – paperback cover, presented here without text.

Mark Gorton The Utterly Amazing Bumbling-Boy VS. The Green Bogey

I will upload them both to join my manuscript and see what happens. Because the paperback version in particular has to meet specifications in terms of spine width and bleed it is possible it could need revision, although Dave does seem to have followed the helpful Kindle Direct design template to the letter.

In the rush to publication I realise I have not studied the legal agreement with amazon an author commits to when signing up. I open the document and find it to be a headache inducing pile of closely spaced type. So I take the coward’s way out and conduct a quick search for any negative reviews – and find none. The one thing I do know about the deal is that I retain all the copyright in my work which, for no apparent reason, is all I really care about.

The pre-order notion falls apart. The Beta paperback option doesn’t seem to allow for it so I can’t see the point of asking readers to pre-order the eBook alone.

For my part this amazon paperback model is remarkable: an order comes in, a machine prints and binds the book, and off it goes. Will wonders never cease?

So, my novel is now ‘Under Review’. All being well it will be available to buy in around 3 days.

It’s not exactly what I had in mind yesterday, but at least it concentrates it.

I need to bring that promotional masterplan to fruition – whatever it is.

Bee-lieve!

To bee continued.

That’s enough crap bee puns.

bb-promo-970-x-250

Author: Mark Gorton

I am a television producer making things for screens large and small. In my spare time I write, with a particular interest in fantastic fiction and sport non-fiction. It is an honour to host Samantha Kwok's local news site, the Blackwater Bugle. Blackwater never ceases to amaze.

Leave a Reply

