MY JOURNEY INTO SELF PUBLISHING: PART FOUR: PROFILE

How to make my Press Release for the novel more human, more personal – that’s the challenge laid down by Deb my PR pal but I’m stumped. This is the best I can do:

PRESS RELEASE

LET’S GET READY TO BUMBLE!

“It’s hard to believe,” says Mark Gorton, “when looking at my 98 kilo body napping on the sofa with its mouth open that I was once a chubby child who dreamed of being able to fly.”

More decades later than he cares to mention Mark has taken that childish imagining and channeled it into The Utterly Amazing Bumbling-Boy v. The Green Bogey, a new all action comedy novel for children aged 8 to 12.

“Bizarrely,” recalls Mark, “I used to dream about flying on a giant paper aeroplane launched by an equally giant elastic band. The story’s hero, Kenny Lane, is much more cool, although at first he doesn’t think so.”

Now the release continues by describing the plot of the book and includes a couple of quotes which reveal me to be articulate and charming and only took three hours to write.

Job done. What next?

I need an author website. It’s yet another thing that hasn’t been in the forefront of my mind. While I’m familiar with WordPress templates like this one I’ve also seen commercials for Wix which suggest that men like Manchester City striker Sergio Aguero cheerfully use the DIY platform. If it’s good enough for Sergio it’s good enough for me. While I wait for Dave Kennedy’s artwork I can write some text and pull together any imagery I have that might help:

A TV show that the BBC invested in but never got made:

toy-patrol-concept-art

Maria Diptych, my homage to Andy Warhol and Fritz Lang.

maria-diptych-panel-1-for-print

matching-maria-2nd-panel

Youngsters won’t know much about Andy, Marilyn, Fritz and Metropolis, but a mad lady and a winking robot? What’s not to like?

Next I have an urge to design another online ad. No doubt I run the risk of breaching Marvel copyright but will plead ignorance and claim that I wrote this incriminating sentence while the balance of my mind was disturbed.

Mark Gorton The Utterly Amazing Bumbling-Boy VS. The Green Bogey

Talking of Marvel, watching Captain America: Civil War last night on the TV gave me inspiration for my 30 second Bumbling-Boy video promo.

Question is, what can I achieve on a maximum budget of £20? My only hope is Dave Kennedy’s artistry combined with an animator I know who likes Carlsberg Special Brew extra strong lager (sometimes known as Trampagne).

Bad news breaks in the United States: President Trump, fearful that my story of Bumbling-Boy’s face-off against a crazed villain obsessed with power might be interpreted as political satire, has taken swift executive action.

bumbling-2

I’ve made a start building my author website but may need to enlist help here too.

This self publishing lark is getting harder by the minute.

To be continued…

bb-promo-970-x-250

 

 

Author: Mark Gorton

I am a television producer making things for screens large and small. In my spare time I write, with a particular interest in fantastic fiction and sport non-fiction.

Leave a Reply

